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PUBLIC NOTICE: ACCESS TO RECORDS
Provided pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 19.34.

You have a right to inspect and copy certain records under Wisconsin’s Public Records Law, Wis. Stat. §§ 19.31-19.39.
______________________________________________________________________________________
DEPARTMENT DESCRIPTION

The Office of the Governor exists under the authority of Wis. Stat. § 14.01 to assist the Governor in the duties of the executive office under Article V of the Wisconsin Constitution.
PROCEDURE FOR MAKING REQUESTS

Pursuant to Wis. Stat. ch. 19, the Governor is the legal custodian of the office’s records. However, to facilitate public access to the records, this authority has been delegated to Alan Colvin, Constituent Services Director. 
Questions concerning application or interpretation of the open records law or requests for access to a record in this office should be directed to: 

Alan Colvin, Records Custodian
115 East State Capitol
Madison, WI 53702 
GOVPublicRecords@Wisconsin.gov
The Office of the Governor is located at 115 East State Capitol, Madison, Wisconsin, 53702, and is open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., not including official state holidays.
FEES

The Office of the Governor may charge the actual, necessary, and direct cost of producing a record.  Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3)(a).  When the request calls for a copy of the record, and the record can be photocopied, a standard fee of $.25 per printed page will be assessed.  Likewise, the standard fee for a burned compact disc (CD) is $1.00 per disc.  See Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3)(b).  If the record is not in readily comprehensible form, the Office of the Governor may charge the actual cost of creating a readily comprehensible copy.  WIREdata, Inc. v. Vill. Of Sussex, 2008 WI 69, 310 Wis. 2d 397, 751 N.W.2d 736.  The Office of the Governor may charge the actual, necessary, and direct transcription costs.  Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3)(a).  The Office of the Governor may charge the actual, necessary, and direct cost of locating the records if it exceeds $50.  Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3)(c).  The Office of the Governor may charge the actual, necessary, and direct cost of removing confidential information from the records if it exceeds $50.  Osborn v. Bd. of Regents, 2002 WI 83, 254 Wis. 2d 266, 647 N.W.2d 158.  If the records are mailed to the requester, the Office of the Governor may charge the actual, necessary, and direct shipping cost.  Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3)(d).
Regardless of who processes the request, fees will be calculated based on the hourly wage of the lowest paid staff member capable of performing the work.  The above fees apply except where a different fee is authorized by law.  Pre-payment of fees will be required if the total costs are greater than $5.  Wis. Stat. § 19.35(3)(f).  Fees totaling less than $5 may be waived at the discretion of the Governor’s office.
